Shopaholic

A few years ago I became a shopaholic, sadly enough this does exist and I was able to manage it. It got really really reeeeally bad. I mean I couldn’t go to a store without coming back with $100 worth of stuff.

Then the movie “Confessions of a Shopaholic” came out and sadly I felt exactly like Isla’s character in that movie.  There are so many quotes  from the movie that I can relate to:

” A man will never love you or treat you as well as a store. If a man doesn’t fit, you can’t exchange him seven days later for a gorgeous cashmere sweater. And a store always smells good. A store can awaken a lust for things you never even knew you needed. And when your fingers first grasp those shiny, new bags… oh yes… oh yes.”

And she’s so right! You can never get your heart broken if you go shopping, unless you see the same sweater on sale the following day. ugh. I hate that!

“You know that thing when you see someone cute and he smiles and your heart kind of goes like warm butter sliding down hot toast? Well that’s what it’s like when I see a store. Only it’s better.” 

This quote above I can totally relate to! Every time I used to go in a store it would bring tears of joy to my heart!

“When I shop, the world gets better, and the world is better, but then it’s not, and I need to do it again.” 

And this quote, pretty much says it all. I knew I had a problem and I didn’t know what to do. When I watched the movie and realized that I was a shopaholic it made me sad because I knew I had to do something about it.

I decided to quit shopping and only do it when I NEEDED it. I became really bad, I was  nervous, I had anxiety and I stopped going to the malls. Eventually, a friend of mine introduced me to this Facebook game called Mall World. I became obsessed! I could finally buy all the clothes, jewellery, shoes and bags I wanted without actually spending my money. Yes it wasn’t real but that was my therapy, it helped me so much while I was trying to cut back on my spending!

I now only sales and only on things I need! However the new craze and I have fallen victim to this is online shopping. Last year, I was so scared of going to the mall for Christmas I ordered all the presents online. Totally loved it since I was at work when I did it and I didn’t break my bank account.

Because of the craziness of the internet, I have started shopping again, and I know it’s not good and  have been fighting with myself not to shop. But it’s so hard! Anyway I have been looking for another shopping game to help with my spending. If I obsess over one thing, I won’t pay attention to the other one. This is not the answer to my problem but so far it’s working out for me.

So how about you guys? Do you have any secret obsessions that I should know of? 😉

Leave a Reply

