Ignorant people

*sigh* I’m going to vent, because I have to.

So, last night a friend of mine posted a quote that said “I want to live my life without stress and worries,I don’t need to be rich and famous, I just want to be happy…” I jokingly left a message that said “Being rich couldn’t hurt anyone… 🙂 ” 

And then this is when the fun starts, my friends friend whom I had never talked to or even seen in my life makes a comment about that’s why women get killed such as OJ’s wife and Ray Rice wife’s getting beat up. (I can’t post exact comment since he later deleted all his comments….I’m guessing he realized he was being a total idiot).

So from what I understood from his comment was:

1. “A woman needs a man to be rich”  – Really? This is the 21st century people, get real. Where I work there are more women working than men. I’m an independent woman who goes for what she wants, do you really believe that I need a man to get what I want? My father taught me to fight for what I want and NEVER to depend on anyone.  And yet I have some guy who doesn’t know diddly squat and starts making assumptions about someone whom he’s never met. 

2.  “Rich people are assholes.” –  I don’t even understand why he would say this. It really doesn’t matter what class you come from, if you’re an asshole, you’re an asshole. End of story. 

Normally when I see those types of comments I never hold my tongue but this guy shared the same last name of my friend and I didn’t know if he was a long lost cousin and I didn’t want to be rude. I left it at he needed to learn to express himself better. 

What bothered me the most was that a woman needs a man to be rich. I don’t consider myself feminist, in fact some feminist take it to the extreme and I find it annoying but at the same time some of these women have fought for our rights so I am thankful. I just can’t wrap my mind around his way of thinking. I need a man to be rich. A. MAN. TO. BE. RICH. – I need a man to be rich. You mean I can’t work and make my own money? Is that a sin? Oh no! Let me go quickly put on my dress, my make-up on and I’ll cook dinner for my husband and I hope he makes me rich when he goes out to work.

I have worked since I was 15 years old and even before then I was delivering newspapers! I have worked in warehousing, sales, retail, to name a few. I now have this job that its not my dream job but regardless it’s a job that I do enjoy.

I guess what bothers me the most is that with just one sentence he made me feel like all my hard work means nothing. Do all men think like this? Of course not! But it just makes my blood boil to see there are still ignorant people that have this way of thinking and to make it worse, they pass this on to their children and then they will pass it on to their children and so on.

Let us hope that our world will improve and ignorance will be beaten by knowledge and facts.

I end it with naming some great women:

Anne Franklin – a young woman who dreamt of a better tomorrow and endured the tortures of WWII

Rita Levi Montalcini – discovered nerve growth factor

BILLIONAIRES:

Oprah Winfrey – I think we all know who she is 

Doris Fisher – founder of Gap company

Rosalia Mera – founded Zara clothing company with her ex husband.

Leave a Reply

